simon-may.com

October 20, 2008

Developing in MCML

Filed under: Media Center,Y-CAM — Simon May @ 4:58 pm

image I’m about to start trying to write a little addin for Windows Media Center to let me make better use of the Y-CAM.  I’ve applications, like MCENetCam, but they just aren’t doing it for me.

What I want to have happen is:

  • Screen where I can view my Y-CAMs live feed (it’s RTSP).
  • Small pop-up that alerts me when the Y-CAM detects motion.

Learning to develop in MCML is a bit tricky, so I’ve scoured around and found this guide on Push a Button on developing with MCML, I actually read about this a while ago on thedigitallifestyle.com.  It looks good and assuming I can get something off the ground I’ll be donating to the author.  I’ve also armed myself with my copy of Visual Studio 2008 Pro (but Express is all that’s needed) and the Media Center SDK

I wonder what else I’ll need along the way, hopefully this will be small evolving series.

Technorati Tags: ,,,
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.