simon-may.com

August 16, 2008

Windows Home Server

Filed under: Home Server,Media Center — Simon May @ 10:45 pm

It’s been a long time since I had something work actually blogging about but I just had to talk about this.  I’ve finally got around to setting up my old PC as a Windows Home Server, it’s taken me this long as I’ve not had a lounge to expand into.

media center

I’m amazed at how simple it was to setup.  Pop the CD in, tell it to format all the drives, enter a password and wait.  When it was done I logged on and got it to do updates using Windows Update.  I also setup one user for myself and I turned UPNP on on my router.

Next I setup my laptop and media center.  All I had to do here was connect to \software">\\<server>\software and run the home server connector software setup.  Now my machines will backup to the Home Server every night.

All I need to do now is work out how best to manage the power…

For more on Windows Home Server, check out We Got Served

Technorati Tags: ,,
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.