simon-may.com

April 29, 2008

Wii-Fi Woes

Filed under: Geek cool,How I Use...,Technology,wii — Simon May @ 7:51 am

We just got a Wii.  It’s so cool!  What wasn’t so cool was the wifi situation.image

As you’ll know I’m using DDWRT on my Buffalo router, I’m gonna change to Tomato soon as something keeps dropping out, apparently Wii has a problem with this out of the box!  I’m just trying a little fix, that’s posted just here.  I’m writing this as I do run through it….

I’ve disabled my encryption, yikes! And I’ve now got the Wii connecting and updating firmware.

Cool, that’s done, now to turn the encryption back on (WPA2-PSK TKIP).  Back into … oh need to set my laptop to no encryption…back into DDWRT control panel and encryption back on!

Now to change the settings on the laptop to encrypted, then on the Wii … umm that’s a no go.  Wha! the routers vanished!  Must have restated itself.

Lets try changing it to WPA2-AES+TKIP.

Wii = YES!

Laptop = YES!

Right, now to see what this Wii can do…expect updates

Technorati Tags: ,,,
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.